Advisory Board


The members of the Advisory Board of the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics IBP advise the institutions of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the Institute's Director on matters of professional orientation and structural changes. They also encourage contacts of the Fraunhofer IBP to organizations and the industry. Members of the Advisory Board are personalities known from science, business and politics.



Thomas Blinn, Chairman

Managing partner, Hatex GmbH, Moers

Dr. Thomas Scherer, Vice Chairman

Vice President Energy Management and Power, Systems Engineering, Airbus Operations GmbH, Hamburg


Jan Buck-Emden

Chairman of the Management Board, hagebau Handelsgesellschaft für Baustoffe mbH & Co. KG, Soltau

Sabine Djahanschah

Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt (German Federal Environmental Foundation), Section Environmental Engineering, Department Architecture and Construction, Head of Cluster Building Construction, Urban Design and Protection of Cultural Property, Osnabrück

Max Duttlinger

Business Consultancy: people-oriented Management System, Marketing & Sales, Stühlingen
Honorary President of the Economic Club, Zurich

Prof. Dr. Bettina Fischer

Professorship for Marketing and Management, Wiesbaden Business School, Hochschule RheinMain, Wiesbaden
Director of the Research Center Nation Branding, Hochschule RheinMain, Wiesbaden

Prof. Dr. Viktor Grinewitschus

Professorship for Energy Management in the Real Estate Industry, Hochschule Ruhr West, Mühlheim
EBZ Business School – University of Applied Sciences, Bochum


MinRat Hans-Dieter Hegner

Member of the Board and Chief Technology Officer of the foundation Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schlos, Berlin

Helmut Hilzinger

Managing Direcetor, hilzinger Holding GmbH, Willstätt

Dr. Stefan Hofmann

Chairman, Gips-Schüle-Stiftung, Stuttgart

Wolfgang Maier-Afheldt

Supervisory Board, Gips-Schüle-Stiftung, Stuttgart

Gabriele Maschke

Ministry of Economic Affairs, Labour and Housing of the State of Baden-Württemberg, Department 34, Raw Material Management and Resource Security, Stuttgart


Klaus Niemann

Managing Director,, Wiesbaden

Former CEO of Henkel/Wolfin Bautechnik GmbH


Mathias Rauch

Head of Department »European Research Area« and Director Fraunhofer EU-Office Brussels, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft


Jochen Renz

Managing Director, Renz GmbH System Komplettbau, Aidlingen

Dr. Heimo Scheuch

Chief Executive Officer, Wienerberger AG, Vienna

Gerd Stotmeister

Member of the Supervisory Board, STO Management  SE, Stühlingen

Christian Wetzel

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, CalCon Deutschland AG, Munich

Dr. Bernd Widera

Former Member of the Executive Board, RWE Deutschland AG, Dortmund

Dr. Stefan Wimbauer

Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology, Head of Division Applied Research, Cluster politicy, Munich


Michael Wörtler

CEO, Saint-Gobain Isover G+H AG, Ludwigshafen
Regional CEO Saint-Gobain Construction Products Germany and  Austria
Chairman, Fachvereinigung Mineralfaserindustrie e.V., Berlin
Chairman, Bundesverband Energieeffiziente Gebäudehülle e.V., Berlin
Member of the board, Forschungsinstitut für Wärmeschutz e.V. (Research Institute for Thermal Insulation FIW), Munich


Honorary Members

Prof. Dr. Horst Bossenmayer

Former president, Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik, Berlin