Advisory Board

The members of the advisory board of the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics IBP advise the institute's directors as well as the executive board of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on matters related to the institute’s professional orientation and structural changes. They also encourage contacts between Fraunhofer IBP and organizations as well as industry. Members of the Advisory Board are people of standing from science, business and politics.


Jan Buck-Emden, Chairman

Chairman of the Management Board of hagebau Handelsgesellschaft für Baustoffe GmbH, Soltau

Dr. Thomas Scherer, Vice Chairman

VP Energy Management and Power on Board, Airbus Operations GmbH


Maria H. Andersson

CEO of GIWA Management GmbH & Co. KG, Munich

© Dominik Fritz

Christine Degenhart

President of the Bavarian Chamber of Architects

Sabine Djahanschah

German Federal Environmental Foundation, Department of Environmental Technology, Section: Architecture and Civil Engineering, Osnabrück

© Roland Horn


Lothar Fehn Krestas

Head of Sub-Department BW I Civil Engineering Civil Engineering at the German Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community, Berlin



Prof. Dr. Viktor Grinewitschus

Institute of Energy Systems and Energy Economics, Department of Building Services Engineering, Ruhr West University of Applied Sciences, Bottrop



Annette von Hagel

Managing Partner of Circular Building UG, Berlin


Hans-Dieter Hegner

Chairman of Construction of the foundation “Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss”, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Winfried Heusler

Senior Vice President Engineering of Schüco International KG, Bielefeld

Helmut Hilzinger

CEO of hilzinger Holding GmbH, Fenster- und Türenwerk, Willstätt

Dr. Stefan Hofmann

Chairman of the Board of the Gips Schüle Foundation, Stuttgart

Kornelia Kneissl

K2K GmbH, Munich

© Fotostudio SX Heuser

Clemens Kuhlemann

CEO of Deutsche Poroton GmbH, Berlin

Wolfgang Maier-Afheldt

Member of the Supervisory Board of the Gips Schüle Foundation, Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Bettina Manshausen

Chair of Market-Oriented Management, Rhein-Main University of Applied Sciences, Wiesbaden



Gabriele Maschke

Head of Section 34 Raw Materials Management and Resource Security at the Ministry of Economics, Labor and Housing Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart


© Stephan Muennich

Alexander Radwan

Member of the German Parliament

Torsten Schoch

Managing Director/Head of Construction Technology at Xella Technologie- und Forschungsges. mbH, Kloster Lehnin

Gerd Stotmeister

Managing Director/Head of Construction Technology of STO Management SE, Stühlingen

Dr. Bernd Widera

Former member of the Executive Board of RWE Deutschland AG, Hagen

Dr. Stefan Wimbauer

Head of Section 43 Applied Research, Cluster Policy at the Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy, Munich

Honorary Members

Prof. Dr. Horst Bossenmayer

Former President of the Deutsche Institut für Bautechnik, Berlin